The Pescador Cup



The Pescador Cup is an annual invitational men's golf competition. The competition is contested in the month of May at the Ocean Course Golf Course at the Kiawah Island golf resort in South Carolina, USA.   

The name of the cup was coined by Graeme Muirhead after a visit to the Kiawah Island resort in 2012 where the scenery inspired his fellow golfers to think of a stylishly dressed Portuguese fisherman. 'Pescador' is the Spanish word for fisherman and after much deliberation the group decided to instigate an annual competition of the same name to celebrate Graeme's excellent personal style.


Photograph of the famous trophy circa 2015

Photograph of the famous trophy circa 2015

The design and build for the cup was commissioned by Ana Muirhead from a world renowned trophy designer in April 2015. Interestingly enough, even though it is named as the Pescador Cup, the actual award is a 15 inch crystal vase. At the base of the vase the words 'It's how you swing your pole' can clearly be read. This is in no doubt an intentional juxtaposition between poles used for fishing and clubs used for golf.

The current holder of the cup is entitled to look after the vase for a year after victory, at which time it must be returned for the next year's competition.

Competition format

Originally contested in May 2015 the winner of the trophy is the golfer who has the lowest net score over two rounds of the Ocean Course at Kiawah Island Golf Resort.

The handicaps are agreed in advance with the official scorer before the first round is started. In the absence of an agreement (verbal is appropriate) then a player will have a default of handicap of scratch. Handicaps cannot be changed between rounds of the competition.

Scoring Rules

In order for a score to qualify to be included in the competition the following rules apply:

1 All shots must be verified by fellow players in the same group as the competitor.

2 Not all putts need be holed but 'gimme's' must be verified by at least 2 other players in a competitors group. That being said, the first putt on a green or a sub par putt cannot be given.

3 Score cards fully filled out with the Gross and Net score needs to be turned in by each competitor to the official scorer at the end of each qualifying round

4 Any single hole score more than three over par will be officially scored as a triple bogey

Pescador Cup Tie Breaking Procedures

2-person Tie:

We will complete a match of cards for the last 9 holes of the competition, essentially producing a 9-hole match play contest.  Strokes will be given based on the course, not versus the 2 competitors.  If there is still a tie, the match of cards will be done again, starting with the last 6 holes played.  Then, if necessary, the last 3 holes and the last hole.  If still a tie, then the 2 competitors will be co-champs.  

3-person (or more) Tie:

We will use the last 9 holes of the competition, using each person’s net score, based on their handicap to the course.  If that produces a winner, the process obviously ends there.  If there are still 3 or more ties, we will revert to the final 6 holes, 3 holes, and 1 hole to reduce to a single winner, or, at worst, a 2-way contest.  If, at any point, the net score produces a 2-way tie, we will then revert to the 2-person Tie procedure listed above. 

Pescador Cup Weather Policy

There must be at least one 18 hole round on the Ocean Course, completed by all players.  If no other golf is played on the OC, then the 18 holes will be used to name a champion.

If the 2nd round is interrupted for any reason, all foursomes must have completed at least 9 holes for the tourney to be considered a 27 hole contest.  For those groups that play more than 9 holes, those holes are null and void.  If all groups do not finish 18 holes in the 2nd round, then the scores will revert to the 27 hole totals.  If the lead group does finish 18 holes, but others behind do not, then the entire back nine is null and void.

If two cards are handed to the official scorer then the best net score out of the two rounds will count as the final score for the competitor concerned.

It should be noted that the official scorer has the final say in any clarifications of rules or disputes.

2020 Event

The dates for 2020 and 6th edition of the Pescador Cup competition will be announced soon….

Current holder

The current holder of the Pescador cup is Dave Calloway

2019 scores - Winner - Dave Calloway
2018 scores - Winner - Alex Taylor & James Taylor
2017 scores - Winner - Ken Griffin
2016 scores - Winner - Alec Taylor
2015 scores - Winner - Alec Taylor